How to select the used GPU

A forum dedicated to WPF version of LightningChart Ultimate.

Moderator: Arction_LasseP

spitzna
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:30 pm

How to select the used GPU

Post by spitzna » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:11 am

Hello,

The Lightning Chart select always the slow OnBard Intel HDGraphics GPU as render device.

What must i do that the chart uses the GTX980 graphics Card for rendering.

User avatar
ArctionPasi
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:57 pm
Location: Finland

Re: How to select the used GPU

Post by ArctionPasi » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:55 am

Hi,

Right-click on your desktop and select "NVIDIA control panel".

You should find a place where to control the applications that use Nvidia for rendering. Set "NVidia high-performance graphics" as global setting. Reboot is typically needed.
LightningChart Support Team, PT

spitzna
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:30 pm

Re: How to select the used GPU

Post by spitzna » Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:12 am

Hi,

ok this work on my computer. Thanks, it's now usable speed.

But is there a way to select the renderdevice in Code e.g. ChartRenderOptions?
When our software is used by customers (they have no knowledge about configuring computers - they are mathematicians and physicians)

User avatar
ArctionPasi
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:57 pm
Location: Finland

Re: How to select the used GPU

Post by ArctionPasi » Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:40 am

There's unfortunately no way for us to select that programmatically. LC renders with hardware it's given to, by the system.
LightningChart Support Team, PT

spitzna
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:30 pm

Re: How to select the used GPU

Post by spitzna » Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:55 am

Hi,

Ok, but I can't believe. Maybe it's not implemented yet.

For our current usage is no Problem. I've added a note to our software specification,
that all OnBoard grafic cards has to been disabled when user needs full performance.

To help you choose which adapter to use to create a Direct3D device:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx

User avatar
ArctionPasi
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:57 pm
Location: Finland

Re: How to select the used GPU

Post by ArctionPasi » Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:18 pm

Thanks for pointing us to correct direction. According to that MS page, it should be possible in DX11. In DX9, not.

We will do further research on this and if possible, add functionality to prefer high-performance GPU when ever available.
LightningChart Support Team, PT

spitzna
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:30 pm

Re: How to select the used GPU

Post by spitzna » Fri Jul 15, 2016 12:44 pm

No Problem. Have a nice weekend!