Trying to plot a large surface but get black screen

A forum dedicated to WPF version of LightningChart Ultimate.

Moderator: Queue Moderators

Post Reply
Theunissen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:20 pm

Trying to plot a large surface but get black screen

Post by Theunissen » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:23 pm

Hi,

I am evaluating your chart and it looks real promising. Unfortunately, I am running into some issues. I’ve gone through almost all the samples and been spending about 1.5 days on this now but can’t get any further.

Basically, I would like to plot a 3D surface but I am running into some memory issues. I am trying to plot a grid of 2000x2000 or larger, but the chart comes out black. If I go to about 1700x1700 I get the view below. I am running Windows7 x64, with about 16Gb of memory and have plenty left. Could you please advise on this, I would really appreciate this? I am hoping to plot more than a few million points.

private void CreateSurfacePlot()
{
// Set grid size as column and row count
const int size = 1700;

Chart.BeginUpdate();

Chart.ActiveView = ActiveView.View3D;

// Create series
SurfaceGridSeries3D series = new SurfaceGridSeries3D(Chart.View3D, Axis3DBinding.Primary, Axis3DBinding.Primary, Axis3DBinding.Primary);

series.SizeX = size;
series.SizeZ = size;

//Set Y values for nodes
for (int iRow = 0; iRow < size; iRow++)
{
for (int iCol = 0; iCol < size; iCol++)
{
series.Data[iRow, iCol].Y = _random.NextDouble();
}
}

series.SetRangesXZ(0, size, 0, size);

Chart.View3D.XAxisPrimary3D.SetRange(0, size);
Chart.View3D.ZAxisPrimary3D.SetRange(0, size);
Chart.View3D.YAxisPrimary3D.SetRange(0, 10);

// Add chart to view
Chart.View3D.SurfaceGridSeries3D.Add(series);

// Remove walls
foreach (var wall in Chart.View3D.GetWalls())
wall.Visible = false;

Chart.EndUpdate();
}

User avatar
ArctionPasi
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:57 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Trying to plot a large surface but get black screen

Post by ArctionPasi » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:16 am

This was solved with e-mail support, and the conclusion is here...

Using high surface sizes needs a lot of memory unavoidably, and the computer can't access the memory if the chart becomes black in high surface sizes.

Building with Any CPU configuration and unchecking "Prefer 32-bit" in project's properties / Build tab was the solution.
LightningChart Support Team, PT

Post Reply